roommate locator homeabout roommate locatorlook for roommatessearchlook for roomscontact usmy account
Roommate Locator
Upgrade your account Find a room to rent Rent your room Manage my listing


Home -

Room For Rent
(Click HERE to post your room for free)

Flag Listing as Inappropriate    Bookmark and Share

Matt (To Contact Matt Click Here)
Location: Portland, OR USA 
Zip: 97215
Monthly Rent: $850
Available: Now

Room Information

Matt is seeking: a Male OR Female roommates
Pets are: NOT accepted
Smokers are: accepted
Lease is: monthly
Security deposit is: negotiable
Public transportation is: available
Room is: furnished
Room does: NOT have a private bathroom

Comments From Matt

https://portland.craigslist.org/mlt/sub/6271691931.html



We are looking for someone to rent our room in a house we share with one other roommate.

Ideally for the six week period from 9/23 - 11/02, or for the month of October.



We are a couple in our 20s/30s and will be traveling abroad for this period.



The House:

- 2-bedroom (one will be yours)

-1 Full bathroom (Shower, not Tub) with towels provided

-Fully-equipped kitchen

-Washer and dryer

-Living room/Dining room

-Mud room (for bike storage, etc.)

- Large back and side yard space with mid-sized veggie garden

-Front porch

-Long driveway



The Room:

- 13 x 10 ft -fully furnished room with queen mattress, pillows, and bedding provided.

- 2 nightstands, each with reading lights

-Up to 2 dressers available plus a small walk-in closet

-East-facing window with screen (looks into side garden)

-Door with a lock (from inside only, no key)



Utilities Included:

- Wi-fi with streaming services Netflix/Amazon on a Playstation 3 that has tons of games

- Projector with pull-down screen making for large picture and a good sound system (we are movie people and watch many)

- Water/Electricity/Heat included



- Optional bike rental (fully-functional 4-speed road bike) for $50.



Our Neighborhood:

- generally quiet, full of families/children mostly

- 5 to 10 minute walk to Hawthorne for food/drink/grocery stores such as Fred Meyer, New Seasons, and the 39th street market

- 5 to 10 minute walk toward Belmont area for bars/cafes/arcade

- 2 to 3 minute walk from 24 hour Convenience Store & Pharmacy

- 2 to 3 minute walk from Public Library



Public Transit: (We are at a prime intersection of N-S and E-W travel)

- 2 minute walk to 15 bus that runs west toward downtown (15 minute ride) and east as far as Gateway TC, nearest desirable destinations east being Mt. Tabor ( 2 minute ride) and Montavilla (5 minute ride)

- 5 min walk to either the 14 bus on Hawthorne, the 20 bus on Burnside or even the 19 on Glisan for all East/West travel.

- 5 min walk to 39th street Cesar Chavez Ave which the 75 bus runs on to take you anywhere north/south, including a quick 7 minute ride north to Hollywood TC to connect to all MAX line trains that will connect you to anywhere in the greater Portland Metro area.

- Long story short, you will be near all sorts of things and you will easily be able to travel anywhere in the city on the public transit system to find/see/experience other things.



About your roommate:



Matt D (not to be confused with the Matt writing this ad) is 31, works security during the day and is also a musician and writer. He is from the East coast and is a quiet genius of sorts. He goes to bed early, generally between 10-11 PM and is up early as well. This holds for the weekends, during which he works. Very smart and friendly individual, but we definitely respect each other's space and privacy, our house is mostly quiet and we prefer to keep it as such.



Rules:

- Respect is key: respect the house, its belongings, and its inhabitants

- Respect our neighbors and neighborhood

- No smoking indoors (non-smokers preferred)

- No pets

- No hard drugs. Alcohol and marijuana are ok as we occasionally indulge in moderation.

- Keep all shared spaces clean, i.e. when you make food and eat, do your dishes shorty thereafter, general cleanliness stuff like that



Preferred Candidates/Potential Benefits:

- Anyone with knowledge of gardening, specifically vegetable gardening, is a huge plus. We have a garden and have several types of vegetables and herbs that will need tending to. We are prepared to let Matt take care of it, but if you are willing and able to help we could work out an arrangement in which rent could be reduced and you could also have access to quite a good bit of very delicious tomatoes, eggplants, peppers, kale, zucchini, yellow squash, etc.

- Couples preferred (We are trying to cover our rent, not make a profit. As a couple, you would be paying what we pay)





Rates:

- for just the month of October: Single Occupancy: $850 Double Occupancy: $1100



- for the full 6-week period (9/23-11/02): Single Occupancy: $1100 Double Occupancy: $1450



Please respond with any and all questions and relevant info that would be pertinent to exchange. Additional images available upon request. Thanks for reading and we hope to hear from you! ---Matt K